Releasing the Printers Plan Lock File. Follow
In this article, we will discuss the database lock file for Printer's Plan and how it can affect the behavior of the system. This is typically only needed to be done before compacting the database.
Printer's Plan keeps track of the connections to the database, it does this through the usage of a lock file.
The criteria for how Printers Plan creates, maintains, and removes this lock file is described below
- When a user opens the database (by starting Printer's Plan or another program such as Microsoft Access), an entry is made in the lock file (PlanData.ldb). This entry is NOT removed from the lock file until every user closes the database.
- When the last user closes the database, the lock file is deleted. Exception: The lock file is not deleted if the last user does not have delete rights or when the database is marked as corrupted.
Many users have issues when trying to compact, as there is more than one connection to the database.
The first step in solving this issue is to figure out who is connected to the database.
You can do this by going to the Home tab and selecting My Database under the About folder.
Here it will show you the workstations connected to the database, and how many connections are open. Notice one workstation can connect to the database several times.
This information can help you find which workstation may have an unclosed connection.
Once this has been done, and you are sure all database connections have been released, reopen one instance of the program to check the lock file. It should report 1 workstation and 1 database connection.
In some instances, it may be easier to reboot the server release the lock file. This will close all of the database connections any issues relating to persisting connections.
If the connection is not reset and you still see a PlanData.ldb file in the server try to manually delete this file.