Correcting the red highlight on service descriptions on the Task View of the DJB
You might have noticed that sometimes service descriptions appear in a bright red color on the Task view of the Dynamic Job Board (DJB).
These are services that have been deactivated, but are on live jobs. In most instances, the order was copied from a previous order, but if an Admin deactivates a service that is in use, you will see the same. Whenever there is a deactivated service on an order, that means the decision for the company is to no longer use the service, so Midnight highlights it with the red color to alert users the code should not be used. (The same red color displays on the order screen for the service.)
Deactivated services cannot be selected for adding to new orders, but if an old order is copied, the deactivated service will copy to the new job as well. If you encounter a deactivated service on an order, alert the account manager that created the order so they can update the job. The deactivated service should be deleted from the order and whichever service the team decides should replace the old service should be added to the order instead.
To remove a deactivated service, the account manager (or someone else familiar with the billing of the job) should go to the orders module to make the change. Within Orders, search for and select the order that needs to be updated. Click on the tab that has the deactivated service. Make note of any manually entered details on the service so you can add those notes to the new service.
Using the Service Drop-down, add the new service to the order that best identifies the work to be done and that should be billed. (You will add a new line item to the order as normal, this will be the one used to replace the one you are removing. If you are unsure what service to select, please ask your manager or Midnight Champion for the new, correct code to select for the job.) After the new service has been added and any missing details and pricing set to match the desired values, you may delete the deactivated service from the order. To delete the line item, click the red ‘X’ on the far right of that line item.
If you see any other services displaying in red on the order, be sure to update those as well.
Once the order is corrected, the DJB will also show the corrected information.
When services are deactivated in Admin, remind the team to update any templates or copied orders that use those services to reflect the new services that should be used and to remove the deactivated ones so they do not appear on new jobs.
Once the deactivated services are removed from jobs, you will no longer see the bright red highlight on service descriptions!